Reviewed and/or Updated on: August 10, 2017

Fire Certification Process

Those who aspire to become Wisconsin fire service certified must satisfy the program requirements which are based on the appropriate National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) standards and be tested for competency.


Qualified individuals may enter the certification process by contacting the Fire Service Coordinator at the WTCS district serving the area of the state in which they reside and requesting to do so. Upon receipt of such request, appropriate application materials for the pertinent certification category or level will be provided. Completed application and state summary forms shall be returned to the respective Fire Service Coordinator. An aid to individuals in completing the form is the Wisconsin Technical College System Fire Service Certification Program Policy and Procedures Manual. This publication lists the applicable standard(s), prerequisites, training course/facilities/equipment, and examination requirements for each category and level of certification provided.

Advanced Standing

Individuals may become qualified to enter the certification program by completing the approved state training program for the pertinent certification category or level, or a program deemed equivalent to the approved training program. Such equivalent education and training may consist of the approved programs of other states, the various branches of the United States military, or in isolated cases, those of foreign countries. Equivalency of the education and training shall be determined by the WTCSB Fire Education and Training Consultant. Equivalency so granted shall be termed "advanced standing," and entitles the individual in question to a one-time challenge of the certification process. Those unsuccessful in the challenge must complete the approved state program before again being allowed to enter the certification process. 

Testing Process

The respective candidate must successfully complete a Written and Practical Skills examination in order to become Wisconsin Certified.

Reciprocal Certification

It is the policy of the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS), Fire Service Training (FST) to issue certificates of reciprocity upon request to individuals who are currently certified by entities whose certifications are accredited by either the International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) or the National Board on Fire Service Professional Qualifications (ProBoard).

Requests for reciprocity shall consist of a cover letter thoroughly explaining the certification level(s) for which reciprocity is being requested, photocopies of the certificates for which reciprocity is being requested with the accreditation agency clearly displayed, full name, address, and phone number of the individual requesting reciprocity.