Reviewed and/or Updated on: December 10, 2018

District Board Appointment Process

Each of Wisconsin's sixteen technical college districts are governed by a nine-member board appointed by local elected officials from the district. District Board members serve three-year terms. The terms are staggered so that each year the terms of three members of each District Board become open. State statutes prescribe the composition of the District Boards.

The requirements for the composition of District Board members, district plans of representation, and board appointment process is described in sections of Chapter 38 of the Wisconsin Statutes and Chapter TCS 2 of the state's administrative code.